jump to navigation

Columbine Anniversary April 21, 2011

Posted by marchooks in In Honor of....
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Columbine Highschool

Today is the 12th anniversary of the Columbine High School shooting. A day I will remember, like many my age, for the rest of my life. I remember being in Acting class my Freshman year, a day like any other. Before class let out my teacher, Mrs. Sokol, told us that something terrible had happened but that our high school was very safe. We of course had no idea what she was talking about. This was an age before web enabled cell phones and internet that was pretty slow. I remember asking my friends if they heard anything, which they hadn’t. On the way out of school, I heard that a high school in Colorado had a shooting. I immediately rushed home to the nearest television and turned on the news. What I saw was a shocking display of carnage that shook me to my core. Columbine High School had suffered a tragedy where 12 students and one teacher were killed and two dozen were injured.

In the wake of tragedies, the public is left to ask questions. Why would these students do this? How come we didn’t see this coming? This left the media and others giving answers that never made sense. It was video games, or bullying, or bad parenting. But the problem is, there are no answers. When Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold killed themselves, the answers died there. The cause of this tragedy was two seriously disturbed individuals that set out for infamy.

Looking back, it seems like a different world now. And with the events of September 11th, this shooting is often in the back of our minds. What my hope is today is to honor the ones that were killed and to never forget this awful day in American history.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

